That Time I Went To Hogwarts and More

Guess where I got to go!? I got my letter…

Vicky Louise

The Little Zoo on the Cul-de-sac

1 Privet Drive....

Okay, okay it didn’t quite happen like that, I had no owls swooping around throwing letters at me and I haven’t had the pleasures of sitting through Professor Snape’s Potions Class but I did get to go to the Warner Brothers Studios! All those thousands upon thousands of genuine movie props to ogle were spell bounding and magical! See what I did there? In all seriousness if you ever find yourself in London you must make a day for this if you’re a lover of the Harry Potter series! Plus the Butterbeer is delicious!

My boyfriend is Ginger and proud so naturally he had to spend a small fortune in the gift shop so he could have a scarf like Ron! He also bought a wand … not Rons though, he bought Sirius Blacks replica wand and is now praying for pay day to come quicker!

 

Halloween has been and gone, we live on a little street which is quite out of the way but 60% of the population are grandparents, 39% parents and the 1% being me … the crazy cat lady! So with those figures you’d expect quite a few trick or treaters knocking on your door begging you for candy, we stocked up… we got 200 bags of jellies. we got rid of about 12 bags and most of them were thanks to my need to fill the worlds cutest pumpkins bag as much as possible! It was his first trick or treating and hadn’t been walking long, how could I resist a slightly wobbly pumpkin giggling away and a mummy pumpkin keeping him steady?

Jonathan spent a while doing up the house outside, we had cobwebs, spiders, fake blood and skulls everywhere (strangely I didn’t take a photo) and we had carved pumpkins to put on the doorstep… Jonathan also demanded we make some sort of effort in the dressing up department for the kids. I was a Witch and Jonathan was a Zombie! Apparently being zombified means you have to play around with liquid latex which he managed to get stuck in his beard! Let me tell you now folks, that will not come out! The 3 year old beard had to be hacked off… MWAHAHA

 

So… some bloke tried to blow up parliament and we celebrate it every year! Remember remember the 5th of November boys and girls because it’s the only time unlicensed people get to play with explosives in the UK…

English Folk Verse (c.1870)

The Fifth of November

Remember, remember!
The fifth of November,
The Gunpowder treason and plot;
I know of no reason
Why the Gunpowder treason
Should ever be forgot!
Guy Fawkes and his companions
Did the scheme contrive,
To blow the King and Parliament
All up alive.
Threescore barrels, laid below,
To prove old England’s overthrow.
But, by God’s providence, him they catch,
With a dark lantern, lighting a match!
A stick and a stake
For King James’s sake!
If you won’t give me one,
I’ll take two,
The better for me,
And the worse for you.
A rope, a rope, to hang the Pope,
A penn’orth of cheese to choke him,
A pint of beer to wash it down,
And a jolly good fire to burn him.
Holloa, boys! holloa, boys! make the bells ring!
Holloa, boys! holloa boys! God save the King!
Hip, hip, hooor-r-r-ray!

We had a few friends round and had fresh tomato and basil soup to warm us followed by hot dogs and jacket potatoes while we watched £50 sparkle and disappear! Every fire work in this box was a different shape and size but when it came to lighting them they were all exactly the same give or take a little bit of red colouring in the sparkly bits! Note to self … leave it to the professionals next year! It was still nice to have friends round though.

 

 

2 thoughts on “That Time I Went To Hogwarts and More

Leave a Reply

