The Power Of One Band

fOlgoeN

I will hold my hands up and say that I do love a bit of Maroon 5, I can dance along, I can sing along at the top of my lungs and I can sing the majority of their first album without prompt… but I have never classed myself as a ‘fan’. However, today I did a little research and found myself not a fan of the music per say but a fan of the people that form the band. Here’s what made me settle on this;

1. A child with Downs Syndrome gets to meet his favourite band, his excitement gets the better of him and as a result he ends up having a panic attack and laying on the floor. The entire band laid on the floor with him so he didn’t feel weird about it, and so spending a little while just hanging out on the floor, no judging, no belittling and no demeaning. Amazing.

Here’s one news coverage

2. One of their first gigs after hitting it big with Harder to Breath they analyzed the crowd and worked out that it was hugely mixed with members of all ages. Instead of using the curse word to the line “You want to stay but you know very well I want you gone / Not fit to f*****’ tread the ground I’m walking on” Adam Levine censored himself to the disappointment of only one member of that crowd who made a point of it and through out some dramatics. Mr Levine called the girl out and explained that it was not right to use such language in front of such a varied crowd. Awesome.

3. He’s 100% pro gay and anti racist and not afraid to show it.

“We all really wanted to provide some cushion for him (his brother) and constantly let him know that it’s OK. A lot of people don’t want their kid to be gay and will fight it at all costs. But I’ve got news for you—it’s a losing f******* battle. The more you fight it, the more f*****-up your kid’s gonna be. You’ve just gotta embrace it from the beginning. That’s the only way to deal with it as a family. Otherwise, you’re just screwing yourself over, and you’re gonna make your kid miserable.”

“I’m realistic about the world, but I do have a very sunny perspective on things. When the ‘F word’ and the ‘N word’ are equally taboo, when you can’t just walk around saying that word — which you can, to be brutally honest — that’ll be when it’s really real. Homophobia and racism are very different and have a very different history behind them. But for some reason, we’re a little bit behind with homosexuality. The fact that gay marriage isn’t legal everywhere at this point is a joke. But there are things now that you never thought would have existed, so I think that we’re kind of in good shape.”

4. Adam is one of the spokes persons for It Gets Better, an anti bullying campaign that was set up following the suicide of teenagers who were bullied for being gay. It Gets Better is a non profit, internet based charity that aims to prevent suicides in LGBT teenagers.

The It Gets Better Project

5. Speaking of charities Adam Levine has also supported the following charities:

6. Adam, and band mate James Valentine took some time out of their busy touring schedules one Wednesday morning in August of 2013 to visit the Ryan Seacrest Foundation at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia.

…And the list goes on!

people can make bad music and be good people just the same as they can make good music yet still be bad people, or both or neither. Whatever people are people. Think twice before you judge, fame does not make people different to you or me.

Find me on:

FaceBook

Twitter

Google+

tumblr 

4 thoughts on “The Power Of One Band

Leave a Reply

